August 4, 2011

Forever will it dominate your DEStiny

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:37 pm by dgcombs

Once in a great while the Internet yields up a great truth, with a capital "T." And that spells trouble, right here in River City.

I was on a grand search, leaving no stone unturned, no patch of ground unplowed, no brook uncrossed. I was looking for a way to use DES encryption in a JavaScript program for a Chrome Extension I was writing. What did you think I was looking for? The Golden Fleece?

So I did what comes naturally these days. I started to Google (Is "Google" a verb?). What I found was a plethora of implementations of the DES encryption algorithm in Javascript! it was a veritable gold mine of knowledge! And what's more, it meant that I could pilfer^H^H^H^H^H^H (those are backspace characters, by the way) reuse the code without having to rewrite it completely. But as I was checking through the actual JavaScript programs, I noticed something odd. They all seemed to have a very similar form. A few of them credited the original author, one Paul Tero, from July 2001 and Michael Hayworth (unreachable) who optimized the performance in November of 2001. But some of them emphatically did not. They simply reused the code. I was shocked to find so many people offering a service without crediting the original author(s). What a panoply of perfidy as they pilfered the code without backspaces or compunction.
Des-familytree

Once I figured out what was going on, I went through the code listings very carefully and selected the Cheeso implementation since Dino Chiesa both credited the author(s) and "Re-packaged as a Javascript OO library." You other guys should remember:

"Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your DEStiny."

Yeah. Thanks, Yoda.

Leave a Reply

