December 25, 2010

Gingerbread for Christmas

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:59 pm by dgcombs

My wife, Linda, is preparing her famous cinnamon rolls for a delightful Christmas dinner with our local family. I decided to make my own contribution: Gingerbread.

I’ve been playing around a bit with Blender‘s latest version, the 2.55 Beta. It’s not ready yet, I’m told. But I figured at least I could start learning some of the changes to the user interface. There are a number of window management changes that make Blender more usable on a Mac and even on Windows. Finally, at long last, a Blender version that doesn’t have mysterious blobs of color where the menu is supposed to reside. I could even do some pretty intricate work (if my stubby, chubby fingers could manage it) on my hackintosh.

But the multitude of changes between 2.49 and this 2.5 beta version are just too many for my little gray cells to figure out. “If only,” I thought in a wearily wan and wistful way, “there were a book. Something with lots of pictures.”

Imagine my total surprise when wandering aimlessly about in the local Books a Million when I spotted my wily prey, “Blender Foundations: The Essential Guide to Learning Blender 2.6.” Wait! What happened to 2.5? Did I miss something? It didn’t look like it. Perusing through the book, I found the screens I’d been seeing on the 2.5 Beta. And when it’s fully baked (much like those scrumptious cinnamon rolls), the Blender powers-that-be will release it as version 2.6. Maybe. At least that’s what some people think. And that kind of fits with the current Linux version strategy.

In some of the older tutorials, the first animation sequence is a waving Gingerbread man named Gus. I decided to make my own. I hope Linda’s contribution will be ready soon. I’m starving!

Leave a Reply

