April 14, 2008

Dangerous Friends

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:44 pm by dgcombs

I’ve often thought about my hidden blog. Silly me!

I hosted a blog on a little old laptop on top of my downstairs desk. This poor little laptop ran WinXP and Java with Resin from Caucho for the web server. Because I’m an inveterate tinkerer, the blogging software was open source and written in Java. I even penned my own plug-in for it. Cleverly and uniquely called “HelloWorld!” it would dutifully post a small quote under the calendar. I never got beyond the first quote.

When I moved the blog over to WordPress, I figured if my mom noticed, I’d be ahead of the game. She did. She sent out a notice to my brothers and sisters to let them know of the change. I posted what’s known as a “301” in the web world: “this web site has been permanently moved to another location.

Then I noticed a friend of mine had posted a comment about RSS. Uh-Oh. Not only have I been Googled, but my poor little blog has been the target of an RSS feed! Not only that but a week ago, a long lost fellow who used to work with me at Geac emailed looking for a mutual friend. He mentioned that his little boy was involved in Boy Scouting too. I pondered where I had mentioned scouting and realized with a sudden chill that he must have read it on my blog.

Now I know it’s the Internet. Nothing’s completely secret. After all, that’s what Google is all about. But beware! Someone will update their “Favorite Links” and you just might be one of them!

So I say (one more time), “Hello, World!”

1 Comment »

  1. ez said,

    Turnabout is fair play. My blogs have been public for at least 5 years now, so I have come to terms with it. 🙂

    Sorry, I am just now starting to catch up on RSS feeds. Posted DPP practice pictures to Flickr earlier. I know you were sitting on pins and needles for them!


Leave a Reply

