October 19, 2006

Hissssssssssss… Pop!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

I’ve noticed that my marvelous computing machine has, of late, been pitching a fit a lot more often than usual. It has been freezing up with a 0x09 blue screen of death (BSoD).So I thought I’d troubleshoot the problem. I took out all the memory ( 3gb ) and swapped in one SIMM at a time. Same thing. Then I thought I’d give a rigorous test with some gaming software. It should really pump some bytes through the graphics channel ( nVidia 6600 GT ) and the 1Gb ethernet port. A few seconds into the “”test”” I heard a sound like someone opening up a pop bottle really really slowly. Suddenly I heard “”POP!”” and the screen went blank as the room went silent.Uh-oh. That can’t be good.I I did what I do. I took out the disks, the cards and left the fan hooked up. You know, the one that glows blue when it’s on? That way, I could tell what was going on, or staying off. When I hit the *ON* button, nothing happened. I mean _nothing_. So I went scrounging for another power supply. I found a 300 watt power supply in Tyler’s old computer. Well, the Athlon X2 dual core 3800+ takes a little more oomph than that, but I figured I could a least get the blue light working. I connected it up and pushed the button and voila! Light. Blue light. It felt like a K-Mart. Say… that must have been where I got the original powersupply. OK – this time, I’m going to get a 400 watt version.Rereading some of the web hits on the BSoD (remember how this started?) it is entirely possible that a sagging power supply could have caused my computer hangs, halts and reboots. Fingers crossed as I figure I’ll stop by Microcenter on my way home tomorrow.By the way, all my data is safe. Now where did I put that tape drive???

Leave a Reply

