June 8, 2006

It sure is quiet around here!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

You would NOT believe the noises that old people make. Why it’s enough to wake… well, to wake the old person sleeping on the couch in the living room. Or maybe not.

Demian came home last week with the big news. He’s signed a lease. No… not for a car, for an apartment. He is strking out on his own. Well, sort of. One of his buddies from college was looking for an place to live too, so they’re settling into a little place on the other side of Peachtree City. He won’t be here for those evening rituals when he and I are both heading to bed and he beats me to the bathroom. Happens every time. I won’t hear his computer sub-woofer booming out noises from his online game and the chuckles when one of his online buddies says something silly.

I asked him if he was going to drop by on his way to work on Tuesday mornings and take the trash out to the curb. If he’d been wearing glasses he would have been looking over them at me and saying, ‘no, Dad. You’re on your own there.’

Tyler is only here over the weekends now. Fortunately, he brings his own noises. His friends from down the block and the other friends from further down the block bring their noises too. Neither Tyler nor his friends can say anything quietly. I think he thinks my hearing is going bad already. He shouts his words and songs at the top of his lungs. The only time I can barely hear him is when he is saying prayers. Of course, like he says, “”I wasn’t talking to you!””

Tyler’s dog, Akira, is another noise maker. She makes lots of cool noises. The one I like best is when she whines to go outside… cause that means that I won’t have to clean anything up inside! The other one I like is when she sleeps at the foot of my chair while I’m reading and just half-opens one eye to make sure I’m still there.

But soon – too soon – it’ll just be us two old fossils making our own noises, trying not to go to sleep until the news is on and we’ve caught just a glimpse of tomorrows weather. Eh? What’d you say? Oh, never mind! Go back to sleep. I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

