May 10, 2006

The Cutest Dog Ever!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

Yes… we got a dog. Or rather a puppy. Her name is “”Tiger.””

I woke up a bit early on this past Sunday morning. Got showered and shaved and was about to go wake up Tyler around 8:05am (my, he slept late that morning!) when the phone rang. “”Hello!”” I answered.

“”Good morning,”” said the woman’s voice on the other end of the line, “”can I speak to Linda, please?””

Well, Linda was still in the land of Nod, so I let her know that Linda was unavailable. “”Oh, OK. this is Abena King, the one with the puppy. I just wanted to make sure she’d be at the Unity Center today. I’m on my way to work and my daughter will bring her to the Center.””

“”Puppy?“” I thought – in a bit of a fog. It was, after all, only five after eight in the morning and my ears don’t work properly until well past nine.

“”Just,”” continued the voice I now knew was Abena, “”have her call my cell phone number to confirm.””

I dutifully wrote down the cell phone number along with the word “”puppy”” and a big question mark on a yellow sticky note. I posted it where Linda usually stands her coffee cup on the table. I’m getting old and these tired little gray cells aren’t what they used to be, but I don’t remember discussing a puppy.

Once we were all at the table and finished our morning prayers, I started in on breakfast and Linda saw the note. “”Oh. I forgot to tell you…”” she began.

Yes we got a puppy. Now, in my mind, puppies are sort of tiny. They wag their tails a lot and they make a lot of squeaking noises. This puppy is already seven weeks old and about half grown. But she has a very sweet disposition, doesn’t bark at all and Tyler fell in love with her as soon as he laid eyes on her. Oh – did I mention that it was Tyler’s puppy? And what did he say on the way home from the Unity Center (a 45 minute drive) with the puppy in cuddled close to him in the back seat? “”Isn’t she the cutest dog ever?!””

Now what are we going to do with all those cats?

Leave a Reply

