December 20, 2005

No Fair!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

Well, I’m s-l-o-w-l-y recovering from my second sports injury this year. I contend this one isn’t fair and I shouldn’t have to deal with it. You see it all started last year (around December in fact) when Tyler decided that it would be cool to get some roller blades. Well I thought so too, so I got a pair. I found them at WalMart for only thirty dollars. You can’t lose right?

But when I tried the big hill at the beginning of our subdivision, I found that three things don’t mix…

  • speed
  • cheap roller blades
  • lack of balance

When I bounced off the asphalt for the second time – that’s the one that slowed me down enough to throw out my hands – I realized that it was gonna hurt. It did.

So when I visited the doctor to get my physical last month… she asked if I was exercising. “”YES!”” I told her. I go for a long walk (about 2.5 miles). She asked me, “”rain or shine?”” “”Well,”” I said, “”only at night after work.”” She looked at her charts and graphs and said, “”you need to work on those triglycerides.”” She looked at me and gently suggested that I add a little more to my workout.

So I figured I’d move faster. That is, run. But only on the long downhill portions of the walk – you know, like the one that caused me to fall last year? Well I did it. Three sections of running, three sections of walking. That way, I could increase the length of my “”walk”” without increasing the time spent — and still get to bed at a decent hour (which, for some strange reason, is getting earlier the older I get!)

When I got home from my intellectually well designed and reasoned run/walk… my left knee hurt. It’s not supposed to. When I went to bed, I couldn’t bend it too far up, or down, or lay my knees on top of one another. OUCH!

After several days now, it just aches and it’s getting better. But I need to find a more relaxing way to exercise. I’m not good with pain.

Leave a Reply

