October 22, 2005

This Is My Dad

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

This is my dad. He is 80 years old today.I want to tell you about my dad…I learned a lot of things from my dad.

Never use a long line when casting your fishing rod!

When I was little we used to go fishing a lot. Well, I would fish. He would patiently untangle the lines I was trying to use. I thought fishing was all about jerking the line out of the water so fast the fish didn’t have a chance to let go. But he explained it a little differently. One afternoon, I pulled up the line he had in the water. The bobber was there. The weight was there. But there was no hook! I asked him how he expected to catch fish and he told me that all that casting and reeling in the fish would just spoil a good nap. I never understood that until I had children who wanted ME to untangle their lines. I’d rather take a good nap.

Never try to shoot a pheasant from inside the truck!

When we lived in rural Kansas, we used to go hunting every year. We went out with my uncles and cousins a few times. But most often, we’d go out on our own. We were driving down the road one day after a fruitless early morning of looking for the wayward pheasants when one leaped out of the ditch and made for the air! “”Git ‘im, Danny!”” he said. So, remembering my training, I leaned out the open window and lead the pheasant a bit (too much). Boom! went barrel one. So I lead a bit further Boom! went barrel two. Then the shot rained down on the hood of the pickup truck and the now very pleased pheasant went on with his life. I was upset to have missed but my dad just laughed and laughed. I think he was happier to collect stories, and not pheasant corpses.

Never quit hunting, you’ll find it!

While we’re on a hunting and fishing topic, my dad was a serious about electronics and mechanics. But having his workshop in the basement of the house made it hard on him. The lighting was terrible. He often had a 100 watt bulb glowing above his head with a fluorescent bulb shining in front of him and a flashlight in one hand while trying to fish that stubborn screw out of the radio or TV or lawn mower motor with the other. I used to wonder why he couldn’t figure out where the screw was until I got older. Then I started carrying around my own flashlight. Now I understand the deeper meaning though. If you shine enough light on something, you’ll eventually find the truth, no matter how well it’s hidden itself.

Thanks for all those little life lessons, Dad! Now I have fun looking for the special story in everyone I see. Well, I’m off to take a well earned nap.

Leave a Reply

