October 10, 2005

Colophon – Or What’s a Blog For?

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:00 am by dgcombs

Ok – I’ve been beating my head against a wall. Not like Raj though. This is actually more figurative than literal. I’ve got a bit of a problem figuring out How-To © do things.

All I really wanted was a simple blog. And because Blosxom was, well, Blosxomy, I figured it fit the bill. There’s no database to tune, manage and tinker with. And not only that, Blosxom is supposed to be the ‘Zen of Blogging.’ Or so the website says.

So right away I decided that I had to tinker with something and voila! Blosxom provided me with Plugins. But those same Plugins are driving me nuts! They’re all very complicated in their simplicity. And their ocumentation leaves much to be desired.

Which brings me back to Colophon. What is it? Ah, well, that’s a good question. It’s defined as “”an inscription placed usually at the end of a book, giving facts about its publication.”” So this colophon is about this website. I plan to publish the little “”How-To’s”” that are apparently missing elsewhere on just how I solved the problems in getting it up and on the air.

And what’s a Gordian Knot you ask? Well, that’s for another post.

Find some grips and hold on… it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

Leave a Reply

